The Goal

I have a goal.  You could all it a dream, but that always seemed so intangible – like it’s just out of reach.  Goals, on the other hand, are attainable, accessible, and intangible.  So, I have a goal.

My goal is both selfish and selfless.  It is both because part is for me only and part is for people who are not me (duh, right?).  Would you like to hear about it?  I figured you would.  🙂

The Goal
I want to live in Bethlehem for the rest of my life.

Here is how it works out:
I’m going to attend college (a second time) and get another bachelor’s degree, this time in Middle East Studies and Arabic.  Then I am going to get a master’s in Islamic Studies and Arabic.  Then I plan to get a doctorate in Semitic Languages (the doctorate will happen when I’m back in Bethlehem).  After I have finished the master’s degree, I will move back to Bethlehem and open a novelty shoppe and party room.
Let me explain a little more.  I want to buy land and open a candy shop (like in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory).  I’ll sell any candy known to man as well as ice cream (including soft serve), shakes, soda (pop, coke, whatever you wanna call it), and french fries (to break up the sweets).
The second floor will be a large room with everything you’d need to have a kick ass party!  Including, but not limited to, DJ station with all the fixings, giant HD TV, multiple video game systems (ie: Wii, Xbox 360, PS3), fully-loaded kitchen, strobe lights, disco ball, and other cool decorations.  This will be available to anyone who wants to use it, as long as they pay for it (hourly rates).
The third floor will be my apartment (one room + bathroom, bed, desk, mini-fridge, microwave, and hot plate).

After my shoppe is up and running, I will begin pursuing politics and my doctorate.  Since I’ll be fluent in Arabic I hope it will be an easy transition to help in the political world.  I will also continue my writing and hopefully use that talent to tell the world of the struggle found in Bethlehem, the West Bank, and Gaza.  I also hope to work in a school or educational setting of some sort.

This is my goal.  It is not a dream that is unreachable and may fade over time.  It is what will happen.  It is what I want.  It is what I am living for and all I will work toward.

Leave a Reply

